Skip to main content

Levon Aronian

Date of birth:
FIDE Rating:
World Ranking:
Rapid Rating:
Blitz Rating:
Last tournament in India:
Tata Steel India Chess 2019

2017 and 2005 World Cup Winner

Levon Aronian has led the Armenian national team to three gold medals in Chess Olympiads (Turin 2006, Dresden 2008, Istanbul 2012) as well as to gold at the World Team Chess Championship in 2011. His peak rating of 2830 is the fourth-highest in history and put him in the number two spot in the world behind Magnus Carlsen. He won the FIDE Grand Prix 2008–2010. He was also World Rapid Chess Champion in 2009 and World Blitz Chess Champion in 2010. Aronian was the winner of the Chess World Cup in 2005 and then again in 2017, the only player to have won it twice. He is the 2015 Sinquefield Cup winner and tied for first with Carlsen and Caruana in 2018. He is also the winner of the inaugural Saint Louis Rapid and Blitz. Aronian is one of the most well-liked chess players in the world. He will represent the United States of America in the future.




Supported by

Outdoor Partner


Broadcasted by